top of page
People sitting in a circle

The Southern Association For Psychotherapy and Counselling (SAFPAC)

SAFPAC is a not-for-profit Company Limited by Guarantee. Our focus is to provide a training in critical existential-analytic psychotherapy. SAFPAC hold psychotherapeutic counsellor and psychotherapist training programmes leading to accreditiation with UKCP. Whilst we are mainly a training organisation in light of the current pandemic we are offering our services to NHS, Private and Voluntary sector frontline service men and and women. We are offering short term individual counselling and psychotherapy as well as support groups facilitated by accredited clinical members of SAFPAC

SAFPAC Core Staff

Professor Del Loewenthal

Del was the Founder Director of the Research Centre for Therapeutic Education, Convener of the Doctoral Programmes in Psychotherapy and Counselling in the Department of Psychology at the University of Roehampton. He is Visiting Professor in the Department of Philosophy, Pedagogy and Psychology at the University of Athens, Greece and Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Health Environmental Sciences at Auckland University of Technology, and formerly Reader and subsequently Visiting Professor at University of Surrey, Guildford.


Dr Julia Cayne


Julia has hold senior positions within the University of Roehampton within the department of psychology. Her extensive training, as a psychotherapist and counsellor, drew on different approaches to therapy in order to enable me to utilise the most valuable and relevant aspects of each.

However, to sum up her way of working Julia suggests this begins by taking into account the uniqueness of our experience, especially in relationships with others.  Then all kinds of ideas, such as those found in art and popular culture as well as theories, can help us make sense of that experience in order to gain more clarity.

julia cayne.jpg

Dr Onel Brooks

Onel is a Senior lecturer at the University of Roehampton in the Department of Psychology and the Research Centre for Therapeutic Education. He has supervised a number of doctoral level students in psychotherapy and counselling psychology.

Onel Brooks.png

In association with the RCTE/RGTE, staff for this training have included: 

​Dr Christian Buckland

Dr Anne Cooke
Dr James Davies
Dr Anastasios Gaitanidis
Dr John Heaton
​Dr Richard House
​Dr David Jones
Prof Darian Leader
Prof Roland Littlewood
Prof Ian Parker
Dr Rosie Rizq
Prof Andrew Samuels
Dr Robert Snell
​Dr Jay Watts

Training Staff - Visiting

For an informative conversation with one of our clinical members or to apply for our emotional support service please contact us by email at or complete our enquiry form.


bottom of page